[Snack-Size Review] Galilee, by Clive Barker

Quick Bite: I read and loved this 20 years ago. It hits differently now.

What It’s About: For over 150 years, the wealthy, powerful, and very mortal Geary family has been at war, although very few of them know that. Their enemy is the Barbarossa clan – an immortal family of gods (and one demigod) who are plagued with human personalities. But now, Rachel Geary is in love with Galilee Barbarossa, and obviously, that won’t end well.

A Word From The Nerd: As I said above, I read this book 20-ish years ago, when I was in a difficult life phase. I remembered how beautiful it was, but nothing really about the plot or anything. I’m pleased to report that the beauty part held up – the style in which our narrator speaks is pure poetry. But for all the 800-ish pages (!) in this book, it just felt at times like there wasn’t enough story. I was first drawn to Mr. Barker as a horror author, and this one is billed as a romance, but it was mainly a family saga, tracking two dysfunctional families through the centuries. Although there were bits of romance, drama, and even some creepy/violent scenes, in the end, the big climax we were waiting for just… wasn’t there. Instead, we were left with a massive loose end.

The Nerd’s Rating: Three Happy Neurons (and some Benedictine. I have no idea what it is, but I’m game to try it.)

Leave a comment