[Snack-Size Review] A Twisted Love Story, by Samantha Downing

What It’s About: Wes & Ivy are super in love, and to prove it, they frequently fight, break up, damage each other’s property, file the occasional false police report, and cover up a murder. Y’know, super romantic stuff.

A Word From The Nerd: I think every friend group has That Couple. The ones whose neverending drama is intoxicating (emphasis on the “toxic”) to them, and exhausting to everyone else. Wes & Ivy take it further than most real-life bad matches I’ve known, but for the most part, the insanity of it is the fun. But despite a buildup that felt like it was barreling toward some major climax, it just… fizzled. I’ve loved everything else I’ve read by Ms. Downing, but this one just didn’t do it for me.

The Nerd’s Rating: THREE HAPPY NEURONS (and some truffles, hold the bite marks.)

Leave a comment